Kansas law requires that any person operating a motor vehicle on a Kansas
road maintain liability insurance coverage of at least $25,000 per person/$50,000
per incident. Unfortunately, there are many drivers on Kansas roads who
fail to obey this law. A recent USA Today article estimates that as many
as 1 in 10 drivers on Kansas roads fails to maintain insurance.
Thankfully, when an uninsured driver causes injuries, our clients can often
rely upon uninsured motorist coverage to fill the gap. With few exceptions,
Kansas law requires that each person who operates a motor vehicle carry
uninsured motorist coverage in an amount equal to their liability coverage.
This means that even if you are injured by an uninsured driver, in addition
to being able to pursue a claim against the uninsured driver directly,
you may be able to collect for your damages from your own insurance company.
In addition to the many uninsured drivers on Kansas roads, there are many
drivers who are underinsured. Thankfully, Kansas law also requires underinsured
motorist coverage in most situations. As discussed above, the minimum
liability coverage limit is $25,000 in Kansas. With the rising cost of
health care, this amount is usually woefully insufficient for anyone who
sustains serious injuries in a motor vehicle accident.
Underinsured coverage can apply in these situations to increase your recovery.
If, for instance, you have underinsured motorist coverage of $100,000
and are injured by a driver with a $25,000 policy, you would be able to
pursue a claim for an additional $75,000 from your insurance company.
There are many procedural technicalities that may apply to both uninsured
and underinsured claims. If you think you might have such a claim,
contact our office immediately for a free consultation.